Kyle Shanahan is the betting favorite to win NFL Coach of the Year in 2019

Kyle Shanahan has a 10-22 record during his tenure as head coach of the San Francisco 49ers, but oddsmakers seem to believe that his breakout season is coming.

Newly released betting odds from Bovada list Shanahan as the favorite to win the prestigious AP NFL Coach of the Year Award for the 2019 season, albeit ever so slightly.

Shanahan has odds of +1000, meaning a $100 bet would net $1,000. In second place is Cleveland Browns first-year head coach Freddie Kitchens at +1100, and in third place are the Los Angeles Rams’ Sean McVay and the New England Patriots’ Bill Belichick, both listd at +1200.

The 49ers coach certainly fits the profile of coaches who have won the award in recent seasons. In 2018, former Kansas City Chiefs offensive coordinator Matt Nagy won the award after leading the Chicago Bears to their first division title since 2010. Nagy is considered an offensive guru, and helped quarterback Mitchell Trubisky reach his first Pro Bowl.

In 2017, McVay won the award after leading the Rams to their first playoff appearance since 2004. Like Shanahan and Nagy, McVay was a quarterbacks coach and offensive coordinator before becoming a head coach. McVay and Shanahan served on the same staff in Washington from 2010-13, and Rams quarterback Jared Goff made his Pro Bowl in McVay’s first season as head coach.

MORE 49ERS: These young players could make or break the 49ers in 2019

The parallels are obviously for SF: The 49ers have a young quarterback awaiting his breakout season in Jimmy Garoppolo, and the team has not made the postseason since 2014.

Kitchens’ status as the runner-up also makes sense, since the Browns have a young promising quarterback in Baker Mayfield, and are hoping to end the league’s longest active postseason drought at 16 seasons.

Eric Ting is an SFGATE staff writer. Email: | Twitter:@_ericting

This post was originally posted at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *