Hurricanes top Capitals to even East series

The Carolina Hurricanes lost another forward — and won another playoff game.

“’Next guy up’ has been the memo lately,” rookie Warren Foegele said.

Enough of them have stepped up to even the Eastern Conference series with the Washington Capitals.

Host Carolina beat the defending Stanley Cup champions 2-1 on Thursday night to square the series at two games apiece, with Teuvo Teravainen scoring the go-ahead goal with 27.9 seconds left in the second period.

Foegele scored 17 seconds in, giving him three goals in two home games, and Petr Mrazek made 30 saves for Hurricanes.

Already without two forwards — rookie Andrei Svechnikov (concussion protocol) and Micheal Ferland (upper-body injury) were hurt earlier in the series — because of injuries, Carolina lost another when Jordan Martinook appeared to sustain a right knee injury in the first period.

It didn’t matter, as Carolina won its second in a row.

“All we’ve done,” Carolina captain Justin Williams said, “is hold serve.”

Alex Ovechkin scored a power-play goal and Braden Holtby finished with 22 saves for the Capitals, who hadn’t lost consecutive games in regulation since late January. The team also lost forward T.J. Oshie after he was hit by Foegele.

Foegele received a boarding minor for his hit with 5:08 remaining that left Oshie doubled over in pain as he skated to the dressing room.

“It was a defenseless player that was quite a distance from the boards,” Washington head coach Todd Reirden said. “It’s an extremely dangerous play, and he will not be with our team for a while.”

Blues 3, Jets 2: Jaden Schwartz scored with 15 seconds remaining to cap St. Louis’ three-goal third period as the visiting Blues beat Winnipeg to take a 3-2 lead in the Western Conference series. Ryan O’Reilly and Brayden Schenn scored earlier in the final period for the Blues.

Winnipeg was up 2-0 after the first period on goals by Adam Lowry and Kevin Hayes.

The Blues’ win marked the first time in 15 years, and fourth time overall, the road team has won each of the first five games in a seven-game series.

“You don’t see that too often, right?” St. Louis captain Alex Pietrangelo said. “You don’t see the road team win all the games but, again, we’ve got to go home, and we played better in Game 4 there so we’ve got to build off that.”

Finalists: The NHL announced that Florida’s Aleksander Barkov, Calgary’s Sean Monahan and St. Louis’ Ryan O’Reilly are the finalists for the Lady Byng Trophy, which goes to the player “who best combines sportsmanship and a high standard of playing ability.” The winner will be revealed June 19 in Las Vegas.

This post was originally posted at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *