Sabrina Ionescu repeats as Pac-12 women’s basketball player of the year

Oregon’s Sabrina Ionescu, a Miramonte-Orinda alum, was named the Pac-12 Women’s Basketball Player of the Year on Tuesday. The 5-foot-11 point guard from Walnut Creek also won the award last year.

Cal’s Kristine Anigwe collected the Defensive Player of the Year award. Both made the all-conference first team. Anigwe is the 15th player to be named to the all-conference team four times. Ionescu, a junior, made the team for the third time.

Stanford had three players chosen among the 15 all-conference selections: senior Alanna Smith, junior DiJonai Carrington and sophomore Kiana Williams.

Ionescu has an NCAA-record seven triple-doubles this season and has more career triple-doubles (17) than any player in NCAA history, man or woman. She averages 19.5 points, 6.8 rebounds and 8.1 assists, which ranks third in the nation.

Anigwe, the Bears’ all-time leading scorer and the nation’s leading rebounder, closed the regular season with a 32-point, 30-rebound game in an 80-58 win at Washington State on Sunday. It was the first 30-30 game in a Division I women’s game since 2002.

Anigwe and Smith joined USC’s Minyon Moore, a graduate of Salesian High School in Richmond, on the five-member All-Defensive team. Moore and her sister Mariya received honorable mention in the all-conference voting by the league’s coaches.

WCC honors: Guards Frankie Ferrari of USF and Jordan Ford of St. Mary’s were named to the 10-man All-WCC first team. The conference head coaches voted for the honors.

Ferrari, a senior who also made the first team last season, leads the Dons in scoring at 14.8 points per game and is third in the WCC in assists (5.6 per game). Ford, a junior, is tied with BYU’s Yoeli Childs as the conference’s leading scorer at 21.5 points per game.

Santa Clara guard Tahj Eaddy (15.3 ppg), St. Mary’s forward Malik Fitts (15.4 ppg, 7.6 rpg) and USF guard Charles Minlend (14.5 ppg) made the five-man second team.

The top individual awards all went to members of Gonzaga, the conference champion. Rui Hachimura (20.6 ppg, 6.6 rpg) won Player of the Year. Brandon Clarke, a transfer from San Jose State who leads the WCC in field-goal percentage (68.8) and blocked shots (94), was named the Defensive Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year. Mark Few was the Coach of the Year.

For the women, St. Mary’s senior forwards Sydney Raggio (12.9 ppg, 8.7 rpg) and Megan McKay (12.6 ppg, 7.4 rpg) received first-team honors.

Guards Shannon Powell of USF (15.6 ppg) and Tia Hay of Santa Clara (15.3 ppg) made the second team.

Pepperdine’s Yasmine Robinson-Bacote, the WCC’s leading scorer at 20 points per game, was named the Player of the Year. Lisa Fortier of first-place Gonzaga was the Coach of the Year.

— Steve Kroner

Tuesday men’s games

#3 N. Carolina 79, Boston College 66: Luke Maye had 17 points and 20 rebounds to lead the Tar Heels (25-5, 15-2 ACC) on the road. Ky Bowman had 23 points and nine rebounds for the Eagles (14-15, 5-12).

#4 Duke 71, Wake Forest 70: RJ Barrett scored 28 points as the Blue Devils (26-4, 14-3 ACC) prevailed at home after a Wake Forest jumper rimmed out at the buzzer.

#5 Tennessee 71, Mississippi State 54: Admiral Schofield scored 18 points in his final home game and the Volunteers (27-3, 15-2) moved into sole possession of first place in the SEC. The Bulldogs (21-9, 9-8) shot 33.3 percent.

#6 Kentucky 80, Mississippi 76: Keldon Johnson scored 22 points and Tyler Herro added 20 as the Wildcats (25-5, 14-3 SEC) won on the road. Mississippi (19-11, 9-8) has lost three straight.

#9 Michigan St. 91, Nebraska 76: Kenny Goins scored 21 of his 24 points in the first half and Matt McQuaid scored 22 for the host Spartans (24-6, 15-4 Big Ten). The Cornhuskers (15-15, 5-14) have lost four in a row.

Minnesota 73, #11 Purdue 69: Amir Coffey scored 32 points, making two free throws with 2.5 seconds left to seal the home win for the Gophers (19-11, 9-10 Big Ten). The Boilermakers (22-8, 15-4) had won five in a row.

Oklahoma 81, #13 Kansas 68: Kristian Doolittle had 24 points and 11 rebounds to help the host Sooners (19-11, 7-10) end the Jayhawks’ run of Big 12 regular-season titles at 14 years. Dedric Lawson had 18 points and 11 rebounds for Kansas (22-8, 11-6).

#14 Florida St. 73, #15 Va. Tech 64: M.J. Walker scored nine of his 11 points after halftime, including a critical 3-pointer in overtime, and the Seminoles (24-6, 12-5 ACC) rallied from a 14-point halftime deficit at home. Nickeil Alexander-Walker scored 19 points for the Hokies (22-7, 11-6).

#17 Nevada 90, Air Force 79: Jazz Johnson scored 27 points, hitting seven the 13 3-pointers made by the visiting Wolf Pack (27-3, 14-3 Mountain West). Nevada’s Jordan Caroline had 10 points and 10 rebounds against the Falcons (13-16, 8-9).

#19 Buffalo 82, Ohio 79: Jeremy Harris scored 20 points as the visiting Bulls (27-3, 15-2) clinched the Mid-American Conference regular-season title. The Bobcats (13-16, 5-12) got 20 points from Doug Taylor.

This post was originally posted at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *